Beep Rides card now mandatory in select Metro Manila bus routes

Beep Rides has announced that select bus routes plying through Metro Manila will be using beep rides card as the only payment method, and it will abruptly begin this month.

As announced through passengers in-transit and shared with WalasTech, these buses will only accept “Beep Rides” cards effective Wednesday, January 6. The affected bus and jeep routes are the following:

  • Route 4: North EDSA – Fairview
  • Route 5: Fairview – Angat
  • Route 7: Montalban(Rodriguez) – Quezon Avenue
  • Route 8: Montalban(Rodriguez) – Cubao
  • Route 9: Antipolo – Cubao
  • Route 11: Gilmore – Taytay
  • Route 16: Ayala – FTI
  • Beep Jeep: Philcoa – Araneta Cubao
  • Beep Jeep: Parang, Marikina- Araneta Cubao

In addition, Beep Ride’s Facebook Page details other routes to feature the card payment system which may launch in the next few weeks:

  • Route 2: PITX – Monumento
  • Route 10: Doroteo Jose – Cubao
  • Route 14: Ayala – Alabang
  • Route 20: Monumento – Mecauayan
  • Route 24: PITX – Alabang
  • Route 26: PITX – Naic
  • Route 27: PITX – Trece Martires
  • Route 30: PITX – Cavite City
  • Beep Jeep: PITX – Lawton
  • Beep Jeep: Kalentong – Pasig

Just a clarification: Beep Rides is different from the beep card: the former is the government’s favored Automated Fare Collection System (AFCS) for modern jeepneys as part of their modernization program, while the latter is the Ayala-led AFCS that’s mainly being used in Metro Manila’s LRT and MRT systems. Posts shared by commuters in the previous months indicated that a Beep Rides card with a PHP 50 load costs PHP 150. The Department of Transportation also clarified in October last year that the bus transport consortium, and not the government agency, made their AFCS choice as they were tapped for services, citing an LTFRB memorandum issued last year.

Carl writes for WalasTech when he's not working full-time. Give him tips and/or leads at [email protected].